The Icelandic Joint Committee on Arctic Affairs

Arctic iceThe Icelandic Joint Committee on Arctic Affairs is under the auspices of the Icelandic Ministry for the Environment and Natural Resources. The committee has been working since 1997 but in recent times has been transforming and strengthening its purpose and agenda. That is still a work in progress.

The Committee is a legally bound committee with the mission to strengthen and enforce cooperation between partners in Arctic research and the matters of the Stefansson Arctic Institute.

Meetings are held regularly, in Reykjavík, Akureyri and even online. They cover the projects of the relevant institutions and it also helps in organizing events, such as the Day of the Arctic.

Minister of Foreign Affairs appoints the committee for four years at a time. The committee should include institutions and organizations that work in Artic affairs.

The Committee from the 20th of August 2012 to 20th of August 2016:

  • Þorsteinn Gunnarsson, chairman, project manager at Rannis, the Icelandic Centre for Research.
  • Þóroddur Sveinsson, prófessor at the Agricultural University of Iceland
  • Gunnlaug Einarsdóttir, department manage at the Environment Agency of Iceland
  • Héðinn Valdimarsson, specialist at the Marine Research Institute of Iceland
  • María Harðardóttir, publication manager at the Icelandic Institute of Natural History
  • Hulda Proppé, specialist at Rannis, the Icelandic Centre for Research
  • Níels Einarsson, director of the Stefansson Arctic Institute
  • Joan Nymand Larsen, lector at the University of Akureyri
  • Gísli Pálsson, prófessor at the University of Iceland
  • Jórunn Harðardóttir, general-manager at the Icelandic Met Office.

In meetings representatives from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs are present, including the Senior Arctic Officials. CAFF, PAME, Arctic Portal and Icelandic Arctic Cooperation Network also have a representative at meetings.


Icelandic Arctic Cooperation Network | Borgum | 600 Akureyri
☎ 460 8935 ✉ | kt. 620113-0690

Hosted and Designed by the Arctic Portal